facebook facebook facebook
ABC Britain

Recent East Midlands Blog Posts

  • 06 March 2014
    “Lincoln Cathedral”

    view image(s)
  • 04 March 2014
    “Tennyson watches over Lincoln in spring”

    view image(s)
  • 04 March 2014
    “Lincoln cathedral on a spring day”

    view image(s)

  • East Midlands

    Robin Hood & Bakewell tart

    The East Midland’s lies in the central part of England, the eastern boundary of the region is next to the North Sea.

    The East Midlands is one of nine official regions of England. It consists of the eastern part of the traditional region of the Midlands and comprises the counties of Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Rutland, Northamptonshire and most of Lincolnshire.

    The area is known historically for its food examples of which include Red Leicester Cheese, the Lincolnshire sausage,Melton Mowbray pork pies, Stilton Cheese, Bakewell tart, and the Bramley apple.

    D. H. Lawrence is one of the region's best known authors along with Alfred Lord Tennyson, the Pilgrim Fathers originated from Babworth near Retford. The founder of the Salvation Army 1865, William Booth was from Nottingham, and of course the world famous Robin Hood is also associated with Nottingham and the region.

    There is a lot to do and see in this region the area is full of history and places to visit with interest for all the family. The Peak District which lies in Derbyshire is the second most popular national park in the world after Mount Fuji, and Britain's first National Park formed in 1951.

    Activities in East Midlands


    Newstead Abbey - Newstead Abbey

    American Britain

    Puritans - Putitans and American Presidents


    Lincoln Cathedral - Lincoln cathedral


    National Civil War Centre - English Civil war Museum and Centre

    Visitor Attraction

    King Richard III Visitor Centre - Richard III the last Plantagenet King

    Visit abcbritain's profile on Pinterest.