facebook facebook facebook
ABC Britain

Recent East of England Blog Posts

  • 08 September 2019
    John Ruskins grave Coniston village
    view post
  • 31 July 2019
    “churchcrawler: St Leonard, Whitsbury, Hampshire Amazing building”

    view image(s)
  • 31 July 2019
    “churchcrawler: St Andrew, Shifnal, Shropshire Lovely interior”

    view image(s)

  • East of England

    East Anglia

    The East of England includes the counties of Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Hertfordshire, Essex, Norfolk and Suffolk. Essex has the highest population. The southern part of the region lies in the London commuter belt.

    This area was once known as East Anglia and is still generally known as this although the modern East England encompasses a wider area and more counties.

    Although mostly low lying the countryside still has some of the prettiest places in England. The county of Norfolk is a very popular destination due to the Broad’s a system of rivers canals and lakes that are popular for boating and fishing.

    For the history buff Boadicea the scourge of the Romans was associated with this area in particular the Town of Colchester.

    Many famous people hail from this area such as:

    Activities in East of England

    Arts Centre

    Firstsite - Contemporary Visual Arts Centre

    House and Gardens

    Hatfield House - Where the city ends and the country begins


    Fitzwilliam Museum - The Fitzwilliam Museum

    Oliver Cromwells House - Museum Dedicated to Oliver Cromwell

    Nature Reserve

    Wicken Fen - Wicken Fen


    Colne Valley Railway - More than just a train ride

    World War 2 History

    Bletchley Park - Home of British Codebreaking

    Visit abcbritain's profile on Pinterest.